terencelaptop4.jpg

This particular quotation caught my attention:

All children are geniuses; 9,999 out of every 10,000 are swiftly inadvertently degeniusized by grown-ups. – Buckminster Fuller

I seem to notice the word ‘genius’ more than ever before. I attended a workshop recently entitled “Genius Creation-Shaping your destiny through the powers of your mind” organized by friends from Business Network International, which focused on techniques to access the untapped powers and harmonize the left and right hemispheres of commonly neglected organ–the brain. Without awareness and direction, it shall remain underutilized.

Being in my mid-30s, I ask myself “Am I born a genius or do I become one eventually?” and “How long it will take, what do I need to do, who do I seek if it is a process of becoming?”

I am most fascinated with Albert Einstein. He is a ‘rocket’ scientist and fits the stereotype to a T. He isn’t exactly the guy who wears the slickest hairstyle and he is not perceived as having the best interpersonal skills. A school dropout in fact, his life is very intriguing.

How do we define a genius anyway? The website www.thefreedictionary.com provides the following definitions:

  • Extraordinary intellectual and creative power.
  • A person of extraordinary intellect and talent: “One is not born a genius, one becomes a genius” Simone de Beauvoir.
  • A person who has an exceptionally high intelligence quotient, typically above 140.
  • A strong natural talent, aptitude, or inclination: has a genius for choosing the right words.
  • One who has such a talent or inclination: a genius at diplomacy.
  • The prevailing spirit or distinctive character, as of a place, a person, or an era: the genius of Elizabethan England
  • Roman Mythology: A tutelary deity or guardian spirit of a person or place.
  • A person who has great influence over another.
  • A jinni in Muslim mythology.

Fuller and de Beauvoir clearly have opposing views and choosing one over is dependent on your level of consciousness. When I was a student, I thought of myself as a genius in the making. However, now that I have two sons in their toddler years, I see them as ‘geniuses’ this early on. They have strong inclinations, and definitely have great influence over others. Terence is already cybersurfing, very fascinated with juggling and magic tricks. Xavy has a way of getting want he wants and gets it, though verbally-challenged at his age.

Will they be eventually be degeniusized? Not if I can help it.

